3 Essential Tools for Marketing Yourself as an Author


 A lot of people think anyone can be a writer. And it’s sort of true. With self-publishing tools such as Amazon Createspace all you need to do is finish a book, not necessarily even a particularly long one, and hit the publish button. But if you’re serious about writing, whether self-published or not, you’ll want a little more than that. You’ll want to be professional. You’ll want others to take you seriously as a writer. You may even dream of making some money! So what do you do? The answer’s simple- you network. 

 Networking is basically forming useful connections- with fellow writers, with readers, publishers, bloggers, reviewers etc. You can do this online through social media, or face to face at events. But there are a few things you will need: 

1. A business card. When I first got mine done, I thought I’d hardly ever use them. But I do, all the time. When a friend or acquaintance is asking about my writing I whip out a card and suggest they go to my website for the latest news. When I meet someone for the first time and they ask ‘what do you do?’ and then express interest in my answer that I’m a writer, I’ll suggest they look me up on social media and, you’ve guessed it, give them a card. Frequently people will discuss their own or a member of their family’s writing dreams with me. So I’ll tell them there’s lots of advice for new writers on my blog and… all together now… give them a card. This way, you’re turning casual conversations into connections. A card is especially important for any kind of business meeting, perhaps if you’re trying to get the job of writing an article or doing a presentation. Having your own business card says- I’m a professional who knows what I’m doing. 

 What should you include on your card? Name and profession. And contact details, of course. This can be a phone number and email address, or just one of those. I only included my email address on mine as I felt that would make me more comfortable about handing it out indiscriminately. You should also have your website and possibly social media information. Which brings me to:

2. Social media. This is the easiest way to form connections. Get involved with writing, blogging and reading communities on social media and you will come across all sorts of opportunities. You can be interviewed, get reviews, do guest blog posts etc. You’ll get exposure. But it’s also very important that you have a social media presence when it comes to marketing yourself in the real world. Why? Well, what is the first thing someone does after you’ve given them your business card? Do they immediately email you with a job offer? Sadly not. They google you. So, if nothing comes up under your name they will likely conclude that you’re not as professional as they thought you were. Now, it’s not always easy to get your own website to the top of the google page under your name. BUT social media sites have already done that. Go and google your name now. This is how mine goes: Facebook, Facebook, Bewritingblog.wordpress.com, Twitter. (Please notice that my website is in the top three. Round of applause for me.) But, however high your website is, you’ll never get above Facebook! Plus, it looks good to have a page of options, don’t you think? 

3. Closely related- you need a website. When people google you, if you’ve got your site high enough on the list, that is where they will go. And on your website you can present yourself in the way you want. Don’t just have a blog. Have a page for your book, including great reviews. Have a page for you, your accomplishments, and what you stand for. Have a page where they can get in touch. And if you already do book signings, presentations, school visits and the like, then an events page is a good idea. 

 So, those are my three essential tools. Of course, these are the bare minimum. You may also want to consider a letterhead, postcards or flyers, and a professional-looking author headshot. What would you add to this list?

One thought on “3 Essential Tools for Marketing Yourself as an Author

Leave a Reply

