Making Endless Lists

Day two of the seven day writing challenge with Joanne Fedler. 


 Day two’s exercise came as rather a surprise to me. I’m an avid maker of to do lists, but I’d never heard of making random lists within the context of writing a novel. The purpose of it, Joanne explained, was that it would help us come up with starting places for plots and themes. She said that writing is haphazard, and therefore we need to become good at putting pieces together. 

 I admit I was slightly skeptical, because personally I don’t feel my writing is particularly haphazard, but I was still ready to give it a go. So I made two of the lists she’d suggested. The first was things from history I wish I’d witnessed. The second was things I am witnessing now. I found the first one particularly difficult and finally came to the conclusion that I either know too little or too much about history. The only ones I could think of also came with the probability of death or, if one was lucky, disease. Mind, when it came to making the second list some points from our present world were just as scary! 

 So, it was a fun and interesting exercise. Did it help with my writing? I have to be honest and say I don’t think it did really. I cannot see how a list of historical events could be turned into a coherent novel that didn’t involve far too much time travel! Am I taking it too literally? Perhaps. But that’s just the way my mind works. However, this method may be a revelation to you, so if you feel like giving it a try, don’t let me put you off. And there is one aspect of novel writing in which I can heartily recommend making endless lists- outlining. Make lists of characters, family trees, character traits, backstories, scenes, whatever the heck you want. That will definitely help you write your novel. 

 Below are some of the suggestions Joanne made for possible lists: 

10 things you lost
10 things you can’t live without
10 objects with special meaning to you
10 books that changed your life

 If you try this then do let me know how you get on. Did it work for you? 

Leave a Reply

