Why Being a Published Author Makes it Harder to Write

 

 My first book was published earlier this year. When I wrote it, it was with the possibility of a sequel in mind. Everyone who’s reviewed it so far has said they want a sequel. I’m going to write one. I really am. Honest. 

 So why have I only got as far as half a chapter? I didn’t have this problem with my first book. And it’s not as if I don’t know what to do with it, it’s all plotted out. Why can I not just sit down and write it? 

 I’ve come up with a few reasons: 

I know it’s going to be published. 

 When I wrote my first book, publication was a distant possibility. A dream really. So I wasn’t worrying about what other people would think of my work as I wrote. Now publication is a reality and it’s hard not to take that into account when writing. 

 I’m afraid it won’t live up to expectations. 

 What if the sequel doesn’t go the way my fans want it to? What if they’re unhappy with the character development, or which of her romantic interests my heroine chooses? Or what if they just don’t like it as much?

I’m very busy marketing my first book. 

 This is the real killer. I’ve let myself become so busy with Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, my newsletter, and this blog, that I have no time for my next masterpiece! 

 I know there is only ONE SOLUTION for all of these issues. SIT DOWN AND WRITE!!!! So I’m taking a holiday at a remote Scottish island. For a week. Starting today. I won’t be blogging. I won’t be on my social media (much). I’m going to break the back of this sequel. Hopefully you’ll thank me later! Don’t go anywhere, I’ll be back in a week. 
See you then! 

One thought on “Why Being a Published Author Makes it Harder to Write

Leave a Reply

