Award Ceremony Over- Back To Normal.


Well, I now have a certificate proving that I’m not a ‘witless fraud’ but that even some professional writers like my work. To me this isn’t just a certificate, it’s validation. It was also the first time I’d heard fellow writers reading their stories out loud. I was surprised by how entertaining the whole thing was. But I was glad I didn’t have to. In fact, on receiving my certificate I smiled, said thank you, and ran off the stage as fast as I could. Even when the judge, Alex Gray, so kindly took a moment to recommend an ideal market for the story as she handed me the certificate, I couldn’t string a sentence together. I only hope my thank you sufficiently expressed my feelings. Of course, I was up half of that night imagining all the things I could have said and probably should have. Oh well. 


I had a wonderful time anyway. I’d never been among a group of other writers before, never identified myself as a writer to any but family. But now it’s a bit hard to go back to real life. I’m a commercial cleaner and housekeeper but I don’t feel like one. I feel I should be writing. One day I hope I will! 


Congratulations to all the winners, shortlisted, and commended! 
If you follow me on Instagram you’ll know I also attended a writing workshop in the morning. I picked up so much helpful advice and Lin Anderson was so nice as to give me her own notes so I could pass it on to you. So look out for that in my next few posts! 

7 thoughts on “Award Ceremony Over- Back To Normal.

Leave a Reply

