Writing And Housework Don’t Mix


One of my favourite writing dreams is being able to afford a cleaner. I’ve thought it all out. Two hours twice a week would be ideal. It’s not because I don’t like housework. Actually, I do like it. I just don’t have time to do it. 
Take today. My day so far has consisted of work. Work at work and work at home. Whatever women do they seem to get a raw deal. Either their only purpose in life is to keep the house and raise children, or they work just as much as their husbands and have to do the other things on top of that. Is this really the emancipation of women? Except that we bring it on ourselves more often than not. Well, it is doable. We can work all day and do various jobs in the house before and after. But what about if we have something else we also want to do? Like writing? 
I have to tell you now, I don’t have an answer for this. Because we are all different. Many of us stay up really late to do our writing. Others get up really early. My problem is that I’m only fully conscious between the hours of 10:00 and 2:00 anyway. With eight hours sleep every night. So what happens here is that only all the basic housework gets done. I do enough to eliminate the danger of catching e’coli and that’s about it. Hoovering, dusting, mopping, washing and cleaning, yes. Sorting, gardening, clearing, ironing, skirting boards and cupboards, no. This way I manage to scape just enough time to write. But one day the house will need all the other things doing or everything will just tumble down. So let’s hope I can afford a cleaner by then! 
In the meantime, I can at least comfort myself with the thought that a spotless house would mean I had writers block. Except that when I’m blocked I just read instead… 

What about you? Any Superwomen out there? Silly question. We’re writers. We’re all super! 

2 thoughts on “Writing And Housework Don’t Mix

  1. EllenReadAuthor says:

    Pleased to see you have a blog now. Your dilemma here doesn’t have an easy answer, other than getting a cleaner. I hope you reach your goal one day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

