Some Exciting News

Hello, welcome to my brand new, shiny blog! Let me tell you a bit about myself and what I’ll be posting.

Firstly, I am, obviously, a writer, so you can expect lots of news about upcoming stories, progress of my novel, etc. There will also be posts about the life of a struggling author, about books that inspire me, and tips to help you that I’ve learned along the way. I’ll try to post at least once a week. But bear with me, I write in my spare time and have a job, just like you!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy reading my blog as much as I’m sure I’ll enjoy writing it. I want to start off by telling you some exciting news I had yesterday…

Months ago, I entered for the William Soutar Writing Prize. Without much hope, you understand. Yesterday I was informed that my story, A New Life, has received a commendation. Thrilling. On the 27th of this month I will attend the award ceremony and be given a certificate. Happily, I don’t have to read the work out loud, as the shortlisted writers are required too. So a perfect result! My story will be included in the ebook though, so I’ll keep you posted on that.

I’d just like to mention, before I wrap this thing up, that said story was created for another competition, a much smaller one, in which it got no mention of any kind. So don’t give up on your stories, even if you don’t get any results at first.

Finally, if you don’t already follow me on Instagram, check me out at @bewriting. I’d love to hear from you!

 

One thought on “Some Exciting News

Leave a Reply

